© 2016 by Lynda McDaniel, author & book coach


  • Facebook Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon

A Life for a Life

A Mystery Novel


 Book  One in the Appalachian Mountain Mysteries Trilogy

"My life was saved by a murder. At the time, of course,
I didn’t understand that. I just knew I was having the
best year of my life. Given all the terrible things that happened, I should be ashamed to say it, but that
year was a blessing for me."    — Abit Bradshaw


When a young woman is found dead in the North Carolina mountains, the sheriff says suicide. Della Kincaid disagrees. A former reporter in Washington, D.C., she knows how to chase the real story. But she's now living in Laurel Falls, N.C., trying to create a new life for herself. Without her usual sources, she turns to an unlikely cast of characters—friends, customers, ex-husband, forger—to uncover how unbridled greed has spawned a series of crimes and sorrows. Along the way, Kincaid discovers how much the Appalachian landscape and people mean to her—and that life can offer second chances.



"A Life for a Life is a mystery but more; it is a good story—and for those of us from [North Carolina] it is filled with settings and people that feel familiar." — Carole Currie, columnist, Asheville Citizen-Times

"McDaniel weaves a mystery around believable and totally likable characters. By giving a young man a chance for rebirth, a couple find a rebirth of their own relationship. A believable plot, plausible mystery and its resolution all woven into a complex yet simple resolution. Plus the promise of a redux. I loved this every bit as much as 'To Kill a Mockingbird' and was glad that this was not a once-in-a-lifetime experience. Keep them coming, Lynda McDaniel!  
— J. Porter

The Roads to Damascus

A Mystery Novel

 Book two in the Appalachian Mountain Mysteries Trilogy

              “Della, open up. I’m in a mess of trouble.” 

                                                        — Abit Bradshaw

Abit is back! Four years after that fateful summer in A Life for a Life, Abit Bradshaw faces the biggest challenge of his life in The Roads to Damascus, the much-anticipated second book in the Appalachian Mountain Mysteries trilogy. When a family of con artists fleeces his school and casts suspicion on him, Abit, with the support of his friends Della Kincaid and Alex Covington, sets out to find them and get payback. He takes a life-changing journey from Washington, D.C., through the mountains of Virginia, and finally home again to Laurel Falls, N.C. Along the way, Abit draws on every bit of courage and faith he can muster as he encounters a slew of characters—from sinners to saints—who help him come to terms with his rightful place in the world.

"Once I started this book, I couldn't put it down, and once again, it left me wanting more ... The characters are well drawn and totally engaging but what is most captivating is the metaphysical thread that gently supports each character's journey of growth." —Aimeela


Welcome the Little Children

A Mystery Novel

 Book three in the Appalachian Mountain Mysteries Trilogy

Publication Date: November 2018

The much-anticipated third book in the Appalachian Mountain Mysteries trilogy by award-winning author Lynda McDaniel explores the mystery and power of relationships and family, especially mothers and children.

*** What Defines Family? DNA or Kindness?

Life hasn’t finished throwing challenges at Abit Bradshaw and Della Kincaid. In the trilogy’s third book, they meet Astrid, a sprite of a girl whose mother has disappeared from her isolated mountain home. When Abit and Della get entangled in the investigation, they are forced to face the complexities of their own families, questioning long-held beliefs and certainties. A tragic discovery by Della affects everyone around her. This story celebrates friends and family, both the ones they were dealt and the ones they have chosen.

*** Unexpected Consequences

Once again, Abit faces a wide range of human experiences with grace, compassion, and humor. His authentic voice rings true as he confronts his grief and rectifies wrongs and tackles transgressions. When he’s faced with a decision that could cost him everything he holds dear, he goes deep within to find answers.

*** Lynda McDaniel’s Appalachian Mountain Mysteries Trilogy delivers page-turning drama without mounting body bags and over-the-top violence. Instead these books focus on inspiring, character-driven stories of suspense and relationships. Abit Bradshaw, in particular, has been stealing people’s hearts since he debuted in 2016.




"The most satisfying mystery I've read in ages." 
— Joan Nienhuis, book blogger